John 4:13-14 states: “Jesus answered, ‘Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.’” I find this verse so fascinating, especially in light of phrases like, “I’m thirsty for God.” Now, I understand people’s hearts and their desire to articulate a passion for God’s presence and relationship with Him. However, I think this type of language actually causes more frustration in our journey, rather than feasting on the person of God that has been freely given in Christ (See Matthew 10:8).

I think what people are trying to articulate is they don’t always “feel” God’s presence and His divine influence. But just because we don’t “feel” something doesn’t mean we are not immersed in someone (See Colossians 2:9-10). What I have discovered is that it is very easy to teach and state my experience rather than truth ( John 8:32), and have that experience be in direct conflict to the truth. So it may be my experience that I “feel” dry and thirsty for God, but the truth is I have an never ending fountain within me and Jesus promised I would never thirst again because of it (See John 6:35, John 7:37-38, Romans 8:11, Romans 8:6, Romans 8:26-30; Romans 8:37-39, & more).

So here’s the fork in the road. Can I trust God’s word is true when my emotions/experience seem to contradict it. Can I learn to say, I’m full when I don’t “feel” like it? Can I learn to say I overflow, when my emotions “feel” like I am in lack? I whole heartedly believe that learning to trust this unseen reality is the mystic secret of the new covenant (2 Corinthians 4:18, Colossians 2:2-3). Learning to live in the tension/mystery of the unseen is actually the catalyst to increased manifestation of the fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-24), the tangible presence of God, the power of God (1 Corinthians 4:20) and gifts of the Spirit (1 Corinthians 12) as a normal part of our Christian experience. This tension is faith (Romans 1:16-17). Faith realizes that what is unseen is actually GREATER than what is seen. Believing before we see (have revelation and discern – see Ephesians 1:17) and “feel” is the very key to seeing and feeling at an increased rate and manifestation.

This my friends is both divine mystery and divine revelation. Christ in you in fullness (Colossians 1:27, Colossians 2:9-10) and yet in increasing manifestation and revelation of that fulness (Galatians 4:19, Ephesians 3:14-21; Ephesians 4:12-13). Get lost in the promise, for it is the pleasure of heaven for you to taste and realize there is more to taste and realize (Ephesians 1:4-5). This gospel is truly unsearchable yet created to be searched out (Colossians 2:3, Proverbs 25:2). Both divine mystery and divine revelation are sourced in the person of God (Colossians 2:3, 1 Corithians 1:24). Dive deep!

