I’m currently living in a space of new beginnings. New city, new relationships, and a new start. And even though I’m living in a city I’ve lived in before, in many ways it feels like a new city with what has developed as I’ve been away. Often when stepping into a new place it can feel a little disorienting. What do I do? Who do I meet? Where do I spend my time? As I have processed some of these questions over the last few weeks, it seems as if God continues to bring a few simple truths to mind again and again.

Luke 12:32 states, “Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.” Did you catch that? It pleases God to give you the kingdom of God. So what can we take away from this? In the economy of God, He brings opportunities into our lives and then teaches us how to capitalize and develop those opportunities. What can that look like? It might look like a friend connecting you with someone outside your relational sphere that has a work opportunity. It may look like an idea coming to mind that has potential to impact a community. It might be a favorable law coming to pass that allows your gifts and talents to take off with a prosperous outcome. There are probably countless ways God brings opportunities into our lives and the key here is to trust that He will do it!

It is His desire to set us up for victory and then through each opportunity reveal and disclose His character and ways so we can grow and develop as the people God has already made us to be. In my own process God keeps reminding me the previous season prepared me for the current new beginning. He reminds me the lessons I learned in Portland will serve me in Central Texas. He continues to encourage me to practice patience and joy in the midst of discovering what opportunity will emerge and He promises that His grace is sufficient to keep me in the process and accelerate the development and outcomes.

It’s my belief that God is wanting to encourage others that they are making the right steps and you are in the divine timetable of God. I’ll leave you with a well quoted passage from Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.” This is counterintuitive to the operating system of the world. The world tells you have it all figured out; you better know what you are doing; there’s no room for error!! The world will shout about all the negatives that ‘might’ happen.

However, God consistently reminds you that all things are possible, just believe! So, take a risk today! Try something new and begin moving forward in your God-given calling. It may be a new beginning or it may just be a new turn in an existing opportunity. Either way, you can rest assure God is pleased to bring His Kingdom into your experience and teach you to walk in newness of life.

